Palm Springs Film Fest: 'Mary Poppins Returns' Cast Tapped for Ensemble Award

Mary Poppins Returns-Publicity Still 5-H 2018
Courtesy of Disney

The cast of Rob Marshall's Mary Poppins Returns, which comes 54 years after the beloved classic Mary Poppins, has been chosen to receive the Palm Springs International Film Festival's Ensemble Performance Award at the event's annual awards gala Jan. 3.

The 30th edition of PSIFF is set to run Jan. 3-14.

Previous recipients of the honor include the casts of Hidden Figures, The Big Short, The Imitation Game, American Hustle and The Social Network.

"Mary Poppins Returns is a happy film that re-creates the magic and adventure of the first film," fest chair Harold Matzner said in a statement. "In this outstanding sequel, Mary Poppins is back to help the next generation of the Banks family as they race to keep the bank's executives from foreclosing on their home. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda lead an excellent ensemble cast that includes Colin Firth, Meryl Streep, Ben Whishaw, Emily Mortimer, Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury and many others. The Palm Springs International Film Festival is proud to present the cast of Mary Poppins Returns with the Ensemble Performance Award."

Expected to accept the award in person are Blunt, Pixie Davies, Nathanael Saleh and Joel Dawson. Marshall will make the presentation.

PSIFF previously announced several other honors to be presented at its awards gala: Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman) will receive the Career Achievement Award; Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) will receive the Chairman's Award; Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born) will receive the Director of the Year Award; Glenn Close (The Wife) will receive the Icon Award; Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody) will receive the Breakthrough Performance Award; Olivia Colman (The Favourite) will receive the Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress; Timothee Chalamet (Beautiful Boy) and Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) will receive the Spotlight Award for their respective genders; Alfonso Cuaron (Roma) will receive the Sonny Bono Visionary Award; and Green Book's co-writer/director Peter Farrelly and stars Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali will receive the Vanguard Award.