Palm Springs Film Fest: 'Trumbo' Star Bryan Cranston Tapped for Honor

Courtesy of Bleeker Street Media

Trumbo tells the tale of outspoken Oscar-winning screenwriter Dalton Trumbo (played by Bryan Cranston) who was blacklisted for his political beliefs. To capture the film's old-Hollywood style, costume designer Daniel Orlandi told the Los Angeles Times that he "found some beautiful vintage woolens to make Bryan's suits" and used his own collection of vintage trims and ribbons, among other adornments, to design hats for L.A. Times gossip columnist Hedda Hopper (Helen Mirren).

Bryan Cranston, the Emmy-winning actor who plays blacklisted screenwriter Dalton Trumbo in Trumbo (his first post-Breaking Bad film), has been tapped for the Spotlight Award (actor) at the Palm Springs International Film Festival, the 27th edition of which is set to run Jan. 1-11. Cranston will collect his hardware at the annual PSIFF Awards Gala on Jan. 2.

For his performance in the Bleecker Street release, Cranston also has been nominated for a SAG Award and a Golden Globe Award.

Previous recipients of the Spotlight Award include J.K. Simmons, Julia Roberts, Jessica Chastain, Amy Adams and Helen Hunt, all of whom received Oscar noms in the year they were nominated. (Simmons won.)

"Whether on film, television or Broadway, Bryan Cranston is an outstanding actor who delivers an extraordinary and memorable performance with each character he takes on," said fest chair Harold Matzner. "In Trumbo, Cranston brings his amazing talent to his portrayal of blacklisted screenwriter Dalton Trumbo. For this brilliant performance, worthy of the awards recognition it has been receiving, it is an honor to present Bryan Cranston with the 2016 Spotlight Award (actor)."

PSIFF previously announced that The Martian lead actor Matt Damon will receive its Chairman's Award; Black Mass lead actor Johnny Depp will receive its Desert Palm Achievement Award (actor); Carol and Truth lead actress Cate Blanchett will receive its Desert Palm Achievement Award (actress); The Danish Girl and Ex Machina supporting actress Alicia Vikander will receive its Rising Star Award; Room lead actress Brie Larson will receive its Breakthrough Performance Award; Steve Jobs lead actor Michael Fassbender will receive its International Star Award (actor); Brooklyn lead actress Saoirse Ronan will receive its International Star Award (actrress); Carol supporting actress Rooney Mara will receive its Spotlight Award (actress); and Spotlight co-writer/director Tom McCarthy will receive its Sonny Bono Visionary Award.