Publicists Announce Nominees for Their Top Honors

David Stapf Executive Headshot - P 2011

David Stapf Executive Headshot - P 2011

Hollywood’s publicists will honor one of their own when they meet for their 49th annual Awards Luncheon on Feb. 24 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Nominated for the Les Mason Award, which recognizes lifetime achievement are Tony Angellotti, The Angellotti Company; Rob Harris, unit publicist; Sheryl Main, unit publicist; Murray Weissman, Weissman/Markovitz Communications and Deborah Wuliger, unit publicist.

The publicists – who are represented by the International Cinematographers Guild, IATSE Local 600 – also announced nominees Monday for their Press Award. The nominees are: Nellie Andreeva (Deadline Hollywood), Tim Gray (Variety), Rebecca Keegan (Los Angeles Times), Susan King (Los Angeles Times) and Steve Weintraub (

In the category of International Media, the guild nominate Philip Berk (Australia/Malaysia), Elaine Lipworth (United Kingdom) and Lyn Tsa (Taiwan).

Nominees for the Publicists Award for Excellence in Still Photography in Motion Pictures are: Frank Masi, Merrick Morton, Ron Phillips, Dale Robinette and Barry Wetcher. Nominees in the television category are: Matt Kenney, Peter “Hopper” Stone, Robert Voets and Michael Yarish.

Previously announced awardees are David Stapf, president of CBS Television Studios, Television Showman of the Year; David Heyman, producer of the Harry Potter franchise, Motion Picture Showman of the Year; and Carol Burnett, Lifetime Achievement Award. The Publicists Directory and Resource Guide will be dedicated to Disney publicist Arlene Ludwig and presented to her by Julie Andrews and Jodie Foster. Australian talk show host Rove McManus will host the ceremony.