Publicists Include 'Transformers' and 'The Smurfs' Among Their Nominees

Transformer: Dark of the Moon Falling 2011

Transformer: Dark of the Moon Falling 2011

The Smurfs and Transformers: Dark of the Moon aren’t expected to be among the best picture nominees when the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announces its nominations Jan. 24, but the publicists behind the blockbusters will get their due at the Publicists 49th annual Awards Luncheon to be held Feb. 24 at the Beverly Hilton.

The publicists, represented by Local 600 of the International Cinematographers Guild, have announced their nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Publicists Showmanship Award, and the nominees for the film award are the union publicists who worked on Universal’s Bridesmaids, Warners' Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, DreamWorks/Disney’s The Help, Fox’s Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Sony’s Smurfs and Paramount’s Transformers.

PHOTOS: The Golden Globes Winners and Nominees

Nominees for the TV showmanship award are the union publicists who worked on Starz’s Boss, CBS Television Studios’ The Good Wife, Fox Television’s Modern Family, CBS TV Studios’ Ringer and Warner Television’s Shameless and Two and a Half Men.

“It’s important that we recognize the contribution that publicists make toward the success of movies and television shows at a time the industry honors the work of most other industry professionals,” awards committee chairman Henry Bollinger said in announcing the nominees along with guild president Steven Poster.

PHOTOS: 290 Top Grossing Movies of 2011

Previously announced honorees who will be recognized at the luncheon are: David Stapf, president of CBS Television Studios, Television Showman of the Year; David Heyman, producer of the Harry Potter franchise, Motion Picture Showman of the Year; and Carol Burnett, Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Publicists Directory and Resource Guide will be dedicated to Disney publicist Arlene Ludwig and presented to her by Julie Andrews and Jodie Foster. Australian talk show host Rove McManus will host the ceremony.