Santa Barbara Film Fest: All 5 Oscar-Nominated Directors to Appear on Panel, Collect Awards

88th Annual Oscars Nominations Announcement Directing - H 2016
AdMedia / Splash News/Newscom

The same five filmmakers who have been nominated for the best director Oscar — Room's Lenny Abrahamson, The Revenant's Alejandro G. Inarritu, Spotlight's Tom McCarthy, The Big Short's Adam McKay and Mad Max: Fury Road's George Miller — have been named Outstanding Directors of the Year by the Santa Barbara International Film Festival. They will be celebrated, individually and then collectively, at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre on Feb. 11, the fest announced Thursday.

"These directors have each made their mark on the film canon and have solidified their standing as some of the best directors of our time," said SBIFF executive director Roger Durling. "The fact that these films come on the heels of already illustrious and established careers makes this honor even more special."

This particular event — which I am very excited to moderate for the second year in a row — was borne out of the fest's directors panel, a popular annual gathering that took place for many years on an afternoon during the middle weekend of the two-week fest. Last year, the concept was transformed, moved into primetime and celebrated Whiplash's Damien Chazelle, Boyhood's Richard Linklater, Foxcatcher's Bennett Miller, Citizenfour's Laura Poitras and The Imitation Game's Morten Tyldum.

This year, the fest also has announced that Black Mass' Johnny Depp will receive its Maltin Modern Master Award; Room's Larson and Brooklyn's Ronan will share its Outstanding Performer of the Year Award; Spotlight trio Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams and Mark Ruffalo will share its American Riviera Award; Carol's Mara will collect its Cinema Vanguard Award; Creed's Sylvester Stallone will pick up its Montecito Award; and Love & Mercy's Elizabeth Banks and Paul Dano, Black Mass' Joel Edgerton, Straight Outta Compton's O'Shea Jackson, Jr., Son of Saul's Geza Rohrig, Room's Jacob Tremblay and The Danish Girl and Ex Machina's Alicia Vikander will receive Virtuoso awards.