Santa Barbara Film Fest: 'Carol' Star Rooney Mara Tapped for Honor

Mara previously was honored by the fest in 2012 and returned in 2014 to present an award to Cate Blanchett, who will return the favor in February.
AP Images
Rooney Mara

Rooney Mara, who is being pushed by The Weinstein Co. for the best supporting actress Oscar for her work in Todd Haynes' Carol, has been tapped to receive the Cinema Vanguard Award at the 2016 Santa Barbara International Film Festival, organizers announced Tuesday.

The ceremony will take place at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre, on a date still to be determined, as part of SBIFF's 31st edition, which is set to run Feb. 3-13.

Mara previously was honored by SBIFF as one of its Virtuoso Award recipients in 2012, the same year she was Oscar-nominated for her performance in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. And she returned to the event in 2014 to present an honor to Cate Blanchett, opposite whom she would go on to star in Carol — a favor Blanchett will return this year.

"From her scene-stealing turn in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo to her outstanding performance in his year’s Carol, Rooney has repeatedly showcased her talents as one of the most gifted actors of her generation," SBIFF executive director Roger Durling said in a statement. "I truly admire the enigmatic and complex nature of her performances. She’s an adept, beguiling actor, and we are proud to present her with this year’s Cinema Vanguard Award."

The fest's previous Cinema Vanguard Award recipients include The Theory of Everything's Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones (2015), The Wolf of Wall Street's Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio (2014), The Master's Amy Adams (2013), The Artist's Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo (2012), Rabbit Hole's Nicole Kidman (2011), Inglourious Basterds' Christoph Waltz (2010) and Up in the Air's Vera Farmiga (2010) — all of whom also received Oscar noms for that same work. (Redmayne, Dujardin and Waltz won.)

SBIFF previously announced that Black Mass star Johnny Depp will receive its Maltin Modern Master Award; Room's Brie Larson and Brooklyn's Saoirse Ronan will share its Outstanding Performer of the Year Award ; Spotlight trio Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams and Mark Ruffalo will share its American Riviera Award; and Love & Mercy's Elizabeth Banks and Paul Dano, Black Mass' Joel Edgerton and Room's Jacob Tremblay will each receive its Virtuoso Award. It will announce its other honorees in the coming days and weeks.