Santa Barbara Film Fest: 'Da 5 Bloods' Standout Delroy Lindo Set for American Riviera Award (Exclusive)

Delroy Lindo - NY - New York Live Arts 2016 Gala - H - 2016
J. Countess/Getty Images

Delroy Lindo, the versatile character actor who gives a career-best performance as a PTSD-afflicted Vietnam vet in Spike Lee's Da 5 Bloods, will be the recipient of the American Riviera Award at the 36th annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival, the fest announced on Friday.

The presentation will be made on Thursday, April 8, and, like the rest of the fest, which will run from March 31-April 10, it will take place virtually.

"I've been a big fan of Delroy since I saw him on stage in August Wilson's Joe Turner's Come and Gone in 1988," SBIFF executive director Roger Durling said in a statement. "He is one of cinema's most indelible actors. This is an overdue recognition."

Lindo, 68, is best known for his four collaborations with Lee, dating back to 1992's Malcolm X, 1994's Crooklyn and 1995's Clockers. Other notable film credits include 1995's Get Shorty, 1996's Ransom, 1999's The Cider House Rules and 2000's Gone in 60 Seconds. In his fifties, he decided to go back to school, earning a BFA from San Francisco State University and an MFA from New York University's Gallatin School. Recently, he won widespread acclaim and awards recognition for his work on four seasons of the CBS All Access drama series The Good Fight.

Previous recipients of SBIFF's American Riviera Award include Judy's Renee Zellweger (2020); Green Book's Viggo Mortensen (2019); Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri's Sam Rockwell (2018); Hell or High Water's Jeff Bridges (2017); Spotlight's Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams and Mark Ruffalo (2016); Boyhood's Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke (2015); All Is Lost's Robert Redford (2014); Django Unchained's Quentin Tarantino (2013); Hugo's Martin Scorsese (2012); The Kids Are All Right's Annette Bening (2011); The Blind Side's Sandra Bullock (2010); The Wrestler's Mickey Rourke (2009); In the Valley of Elah's Tommy Lee Jones (2008); The Last King of Scotland's Forest Whitaker (2007); Capote's Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006); The Woodsman's Kevin Bacon (2005); and Under the Tuscan Sun's Diane Lane (2004).