Santa Barbara Film Fest: Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones to Share Honor

The Theory of Everything
Courtesy of Toronto International Film Festival

Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones, who play Stephen Hawking and Jane Hawking in James Marsh's The Theory of Everything — and both of whom have received SAG Award, Golden Globe Award and, on Monday, Critics' Choice Award nominations — will jointly receive the Cinema Vanguard Award at the 2015 Santa Barbara International Film Festival, SBIFF announced on Monday. The honor will be presented at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre on Jan. 29 as part of the fest's 30th edition, which runs Jan. 27 through Feb. 7.

The Cinema Vanguard Award recognizes filmmakers "who have forged their own path, taking artists risks and making a significant and unique contribution to film."

Read more Critics' Choice Awards: Noms Give Hope to On-the-Bubble Oscar Hopefuls

"These two actors continue to impress, and we are honored to have them at SBIFF to celebrate their fantastic body of work," SBIFF executive director Roger Durling said in a statement. "[Their] work together in The Theory of Everything is nothing short of an astonishing collaboration, recalling the alchemy of Daniel Day-Lewis and Brenda Fricker in My Left Foot."

Previous Vanguard Award honorees include The Wolf of Wall Street's Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio (2014), The Master's Amy Adams (2013), The Artist's Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo (2012), Rabbit Hole's Nicole Kidman (2011), Inglourious Basterds' Christoph Waltz, and Up in the Air's Vera Farmiga — all of whom also received Oscar noms for that same work. (Dujardin and Waltz won.)

The fest previously announced that it will be presenting its Modern Master Award to Birdman's Michael Keaton; Outstanding Performer of the Year Award to Foxcatcher's Steve Carell; American Riviera Award to Boyhood's Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette; and Virtuosos Award to Obvious Child's Jenny SlateFury's Logan Lerman, Boyhood's Ellar Coltrane, Get On Up's Chadwick Boseman, Gone Girl's Rosamund Pike, Whiplash's J.K. Simmons and Selma's David Oyelowo.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg