Santa Barbara Film Fest: 'Hell or High Water' Star Jeff Bridges Tapped for American Riviera Award

Directors -HELL OR HIGH WATER - Jeff Bridges - Publicity- EMBED 2- 2016
Courtesy of CBS Films

Jeff Bridges in Hell or High Water.

Jeff Bridges, the legendary actor who has received best supporting actor Critics' Choice, Golden Globe and SAG nominations for his portrayal of a retiring sheriff pursuing one last case in David Mackenzie's Hell or High Water, will be honored with the Santa Barbara International Film Festival's American Riviera Award, the festival has announced.

The ceremony will take place at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre on Feb. 9 as part of SBIFF's 32nd edition, which runs Feb. 1-11.

The 66-year-old fan favorite is a five-time Oscar nominee who won the best actor Oscar for his performance in 2009's Crazy Heart, but may be best known for his performance in the 1998 cult classic The Big Lebowski.

"Jeff Bridges shows us in Hell or High Water that an already great artist can continue his growth," festival director Roger Durling said in a statement. "I may go as far as saying that this is his best performance. It's truly special to be able to celebrate Jeff, for he’s not only a dear friend of SBIFF, but a timeless legend in our industry."

Previous recipients of SBIFF's American Riviera Award include Spotlight's Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams and Mark Ruffalo (2015); Boyhood's Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke (2015); All Is Lost's Robert Redford (2014); Django Unchained's Quentin Tarantino (2013); Hugo's Martin Scorsese (2012); The Kids Are All Right's Annette Bening (2011); The Blind Side's Sandra Bullock (2010); The Wrestler's Mickey Rourke (2009); In the Valley of Elah's Tommy Lee Jones (2008); The Last King of Scotland's Forest Whitaker (2007); Capote's Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006); The Woodsman's Kevin Bacon (2005); and Under the Tuscan Sun's Diane Lane (2004).

McAdams, Ruffalo, Arquette, Hawke, Tarantino, Scorsese, Bening, Bullock, Rourke, Jones, Whitaker and Hoffman all went on to receive Oscar nominations; Bullock, Whitaker and Hoffman took home the gold.

The fest previously honored Warren Beatty (Rules Don't Apply) with its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film and has announced that it will honor Denzel Washington (Fences) with its Maltin Modern Master Award; Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone (La La Land) with its Outstanding Performers of the Year Award; Casey Affleck and Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea) with its Cinema Vanguard Award; Isabelle Huppert (Elle) with its Montecito Award; and Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Nocturnal Animals), Dev Patel (Lion), Janelle Monae (Hidden Figures and Moonlight), Mahershala Ali (Moonlight), Naomie Harris (Moonlight), Ruth Negga (Loving), Simon Helberg (Florence Foster Jenkins) and Stephen McKinley Henderson (Fences) with the Virtuoso Award.

Other honors are expected to be announced in the coming days.