Santa Barbara Film Fest to Recognize Seven Performers With Virtuosos Award

Daniel Bruhl, Adele Exarchopoulos, Oscar Isaac, Michael B. Jordan, Brie Larson, Jared Leto and June Squib will be feted at the fest on Feb. 4.
Bruce Dern and June Squibb in "Nebraska"

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has announced that this year's Virtuosos Award, which annually recognizes a group of breakthrough performers, will go to seven talented individuals of widely varying ages, races and nationalities: Daniel Bruhl (Rush), Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color), Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis), Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station), Brie Larson (Short Term 12), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) and June Squibb (Nebraska).

The Virtuosos award will be presented on Feb. 4 at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre as part of the fest's 29th edition, which will run from Jan. 30 through Feb. 9.

STORY: Scott Feinberg Sizes Up the Best Picture Race 

“2013 has been a banner year for movies, and this group of actors are a vital representation of what made those films so triumphant,” Roger Durling, SBIFF's executive director, said in a statement.

The fest previously announced that it will honor Oprah Winfrey (Lee Daniels' The Butlerwith its Montecito AwardEmma Thompson (Saving Mr. Bankswith its Modern Master AwardBlue Jasmine's Cate Blanchett with its Outstanding Performer of the Year Award and Forest Whitaker (Lee Daniels' The Butlerwith its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film. Additional announcements are expected shortly.

Previous recipients of the Virtuosos Award include Ann Dowd, Elle Fanning, Ezra Miller, Eddie Redmayne, Omar Sy, Quvenzhane Wallis, Demian Bichir, Rooney Mara, Melissa McCarthy, Shailene Woodley, Andy Serkis, Patton Oswalt, Andrew Garfield, John Hawkes, Lesley Manville, Hailee Steinfeld, Jacki Weaver, Emily Blunt, Carey Mulligan, Saoirse Ronan, Gabourey Sidibe, Michael Stuhlbarg, Casey Affleck, Marion Cotillard, Viola Davis, Rosemarie DeWitt, Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Melissa Leo, James McAvoy, Ellen Page, Amy Ryan and Michael Shannon.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg