Santa Barbara Film Fest: Scorsese and DiCaprio to Share Cinema Vanguard Award

Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese

DiCaprio (left) posed with his Wolf of Wall Street director, Scorsese, who was honored during the event.

Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio, the legendary director and revered actor who have collaborated on five standout films -- the most recent of which is The Wolf of Wall Street, now in theaters -- will share the Cinema Vanguard Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, it was announced Thursday.

The honor will be presented Feb. 6 at Santa Barbara's historic Arlington Theatre as part of the fest's 29th edition, which will run Jan. 30 to Feb. 9.

SBIFF's Cinema Vanguard Award was created "in recognition of those who have forged his/her own path, taking artistic risks and making a significant and unique contribution to film." Previous recipients include Amy Adams, Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo, Nicole Kidman, Vera Farmiga, Peter Sarsgaard, Stanley Tucci, Christoph Waltz, Kristin Scott Thomas and Ryan Gosling.

“Scorsese and DiCaprio’s partnership has become a legendary cinematic pas de deux recalling other great collaborations like John Ford and John Wayne, Fellini and Mastroianni, John Huston and Bogart – and even Scorsese and De Niro,” Roger Durling, SBIFF's executive director, said in a statement. (DiCaprio originally committed to receive the festival's American Riviera Award last year for his work in Django Unchained before withdrawing at the last minute.)

The fest previously announced that it will honor Forest Whitaker (Lee Daniels' The Butlerwith its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film and supporting actress Oprah Winfrey with its Montecito Award; All Is Lost lead actor Robert Redford with its American Riviera Award; Blue Jasmine lead actress Cate Blanchett with its Outstanding Performer of the Year Award ; Saving Mr. Banks lead actress  Emma Thompson with its Modern Master Award; and Daniel Bruhl (Rush), Adele Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color), Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis), Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station), Brie Larson (Short Term 12), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) and June Squibb (Nebraska) with its Virtuosos Award.

Twitter: @ScottFeinberg