'The Artist,' 'War Horse' Among Contenders Nominated for Satellite Awards

War Horse - H 2011

As awards season begins to itenisfy, the International Press Academy has unveiled dozens of nominations for its 16th annual Satellite Awards, which will be held on Dec. 18 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Voted by a group of journalists represented both domestic and international mariets, the nominations cover 19 film categories and 12 TV categories.

PHOTOS: The Making of Steven Spielberg's 'War Horse'

Ten films were nominated for best motion picture. They are: The Artist, The Descendants, Drive, The Help, Hugo, Midnight in Paris, Moneyball, Shame, Tinker,Tailor, Soldier, Spy and War Horse.

Nominated for best motion picture actress were: Olivia Coleman of Tyrannosaur; Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs; Viola Davis, The Help; Vera Farmiga, Higher Ground; Elizabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene; Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady; Charlize Theron, Young Adult; Emily Watson, Oranges and Sunshine; Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn; and Michelle Yeoh, The Lady.

PHOTOS: The Making of 'The Artist'

The best motion picture actor nominees were: George Clooney, Descendants; Leonardo DiCaprio, J. Edgar; Michael Fassbende, Shame; Brendan Gleeson, The Guard; Ryan Gosling, Drive; Tom Hardy, Warrior; Woody Harrelson, Rampart; Gary Oldman, Tinker; Brad Pitt, Moneyball, and Michael Shannon, Take Shelter.

The ten nominated film directors consisted of: Tomas Alfredson, Tinker; Woody Allen, Midnight; Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist; John Michael McDonagh, The Guard; Steve McQueen, Shame; Alexander Payne, The Descendants; Nicolas Winding Refn, Drive; Martin Scorsese, Hugo; Steven Spielberg, Horse; and Tate Taylor, Help.

PHOTOS: The Making of 'The Descendants'

In addition to its competitive awards, the IPA also plans to honor Mitzi Gaynor with its Mary Pickford Award; Douglas Trumbull with its Nikola Tesla Award; Peter Bogdanovich with its Auteur Award; and the late filmmaker Tim Hetherington with its Humanitarian Award.

It also has announced several other awards: The Help will be awarded best motion picture ensemble; Paddy Considine will receive the best first feature prize for Tyrannosaur; and Jessica Lange will receive an award for outstanding performance in a TV series for American Horror Story.

A complete list of nominations can be found here.