'Silver Linings Playbook' Wins Five Satellite Awards, Including Best Picture

SIlver Linings Playbook
The Weinstein Company

David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook was the big winner at the 17th annual Satellite Awards, which were held this evening at the Intercontinental Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Presented by the International Press Academy, which includes the European Critics Association, the ceremony saw Playbook take home five awards, including best motion picture. Russell was named best director and the movie’s stars Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were hailed as best actor and actress, respectively. The film also picked up a trophy for editing by Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers.

On the television side, Homeland and The Big Bang Theory claimed three awards each, including best drama series and best comedy series respectively. 

PHOTOS: Hollywood's 19 Most Dramatic Big-Screen Transformations

Anne Hathaway received the best supporting actress award for Les Miserables, which also was awarded prizes for best song, “Suddenly,” and best sound. The best supporting actor award went to Javier Bardem for Skyfall.

The award for best international film resulted in a tie, with France’s The Intouchables and South Korea’s Pieta sharing in the honors. Rise of the Guardians was named best animated film, and Chasing Ice, best documentary.

Mark Boal received the award for best original screenplay for Zero Dark Thirty, while David Magee received the award for best adapted screenplay for Life of Pi.

PHOTOS: Golden Globe Awards 2013: The Complete List of Nominees

Other film winners included: Alexandre Desplat, Argo, score; Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi, cinematography; Michael Lantieri, Kevin Baillie, Ryan Tudhope, Jim Gibbs, Flight, visual effects; Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, Leslie McDonald, art direction & production design, Lincoln; Manon Rasmussen, costume design, A Royal Affair.

The television winners were:

Hatfields & McCoys, miniseries/motion picture made for television.

Julianne Moore, Game Change, actress in a miniseries/motion picture made for tv.

Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock, actor in a miniseries/motion picture made for TV.

Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey, supporting actress in a miniseries/motion picture made for TV.

Neal McDonough, Justified, supporting actor in a miniseries/motion picture made for TV.

Homeland, drama.

Walking Dead, genre.

Claire Danes, Homeland, actress, drama.

Damian Lewis, Homeland, actor, drama.

The Big Bang Theory, comedy.

Kaley Cuoco, The Big Bang Theory, actress, comedy.

Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory, actor, comedy.


Special Achievement Awards were given to:

Terence Stamp, outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry.

Walter Murch, Nikola Tesla Award.

Paul Williams, Auteur Award.

Bruce Davison, Honorary Satellite Award.

Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Newcomer Award

Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Humanitarian Award.

Les Miserables, best ensemble, motion picture.

Walking Dead, best ensemble, television.