'Skyfall' Wins Top Prize at ASC Awards

The American Society of Cinematographers also honored "Game of Thrones" and "Wilfred" in the television categories.

Roger Deakins' lensing of Skyfall won the feature competition at the 27th annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards on Sunday at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

He topped a field of nominees that included Danny Cohen for Les Miserables, Janusz Kaminski for Lincoln, Seamus McGarvey for Anna Karenina and Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi.

Four of the ASC nominees — Deakins, Kaminski, McGarvey and Miranda — also are nominated for the Oscar for cinematography. The fifth Oscar nomination went to Robert Richardson of Django Unchained.

Five of the past 10 ASC Award winners in the feature competition have gone on to win the Oscar.

Also during the ceremony, Dean Semler, who won an Oscar for Dances With Wolves and whose credits also include Apocalypto, received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

Rodney Charters, a two-time Emmy nominee for 24, was the recipient of the Career Achievement in Television Award. Robby Müller (Paris, Texas) was honored with the International Achievement Award.

The Presidents Award was given to Curtis Clark, whose credits include The Draughtsman’s Contract and who has served as the chairman of the ASC Technology Committee, which in 2012 received a Primetime Emmy Engineering Award for the development of the ASC CDL (Color Decision List).

A complete list of winners follows.

Feature Film
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Skyfall

One-hour Episodic Television Series (Tie):
Balazs Bolygo, HSC for Cinemax’s Hunted (“Mort”)
Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“The North Remembers”)

Television Movie/Miniseries:
Florian Hoffmeister for the PBS Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations

Half-hour Episodic Series:
Bradford Lipson for FX’s Wilfred (“Truth”)