'Homeland' Tops 2012 TCA Award Nominations

Homeland S1 Finale Claire Danes Damen Lewis 2011
Kent Smith/ Showtime

Showtime's freshman terrorism drama Homeland leads the pack of the 2012 Television Critics Association Award Nominations.

Homeland, starring Damian Lewis and Claire Danes, picked up four mentions including program of the year and outstanding new program, where it will compete with HBO's Girls, Fox's New Girl, ABC's Revenge and NBC's Smash.

In nominations announced Wednesday by the group of journalists who cover the television industry, AMC's Breaking Bad and Mad Men, as well as HBO's Game of Thrones each received three nominations for the 28th annual awards.

HBO led the pack with eight nominations, followed by AMC with six, NBC and PBS with five and CBS and FX earning four each.

First-time nominees include Danes, who was nominated for individual achievement in drama, where she'll be joined by fellow nominees Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones), Jon Hamm (Mad Men) and Jessica Lange (American Horror Story).

Winners will be announced July 28 at an invitation-only presentation at the Beverly Hilton Hotel as part of the group's biannual press tour.  

A complete list of nominees follows:

Individual Achievement in Drama

    Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad,” AMC)
    Claire Danes (“Homeland,” Showtime)
    Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones,” HBO)
    Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)
    Jessica Lange (“American Horror Story,” FX)

Individual Achievement in Comedy

    Louis C.K. (“Louie,” FX)
    Lena Dunham (“Girls,” HBO)
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep,” HBO)
    Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory,” CBS)
    Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information

    “Anderson Cooper 360” (CNN)
    “The Daily Show” (Comedy Central)
    “Frontline” (PBS)
    “60 Minutes” (CBS)
    “The Rachel Maddow Show” (MSNBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming

    “The Amazing Race” (CBS)
    “Dancing with the Stars” (ABC)
    “The Glee Project” (Oxygen)
    “So You Think You Can Dance” (Fox)
    “The Voice” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming

     “iCarly” (Nickelodeon)
    “Phineas and Ferb” (Disney)
     “Sesame Street” (PBS)
    “Switched at Birth” (ABC Family)
    “Yo Gabba Gabba” (Nick Jr.)

Outstanding New Program

    “Girls” (HBO)
    “Homeland” (Showtime)
    “New Girl” (Fox)
    “Revenge” (ABC)
    “Smash” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials

    “Downton Abbey: Masterpiece” (PBS)
    “Game Change” (HBO)
    “Hatfields & McCoys” (History)
    “Hemingway & Gellhorn” (HBO)
    “Sherlock: Masterpiece” (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama

    “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
    “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
    “Homeland” (Showtime)
    “Justified” (FX)
    “Mad Men” (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy

    “The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)
    “Community” (NBC)
    “Louie” (FX)
    “Modern Family” (ABC)
    “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)

Career Achievement Award

    Dick Clark
    Andy Griffith
    David Letterman
    Regis Philbin
    William Shatner

Heritage Award

    “Cheers” (NBC)
    “Lost” (ABC)
    “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
    “Star Trek” (NBC)
    “Twin Peaks” (ABC)

Program of the Year

    “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
    “Game of Thrones” (HBO)
    “Homeland” (Showtime)
    “Mad Men” (AMC)
    “Downton Abbey: Masterpiece” (PBS)