THR Cocktail Party Kicks Off Awards Season

The Hollywood Reporter's Janice Min and Lynne Segall welcomed a host of power players to a soiree at Geoffrey Zakarian's The Garden Bar in Beverly Hills.
Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for The Hollywood Reporter
Todd Boehly, majority owner and CEO of Eldridge Industries, whose assets include THR, and NBC's Chip Sullivan.

After weeks on the road — in Venice, Telluride and Toronto — the Oscar race is finally coming to Hollywood. On Tuesday night, The Hollywood Reporter marked the occasion, as it does each year, with a big soiree hosted by THR president/chief creative officer Janice Min and publisher Lynne Segall. The event was held at Geoffrey Zakarian's The Garden Bar at Montage Beverly Hills, where Min and Segall previewed the publication's upcoming offerings before a host of awards-season power players.

Those in attendance included Fox Searchlight co-president Nancy Utley; Roadside Attractions co-president Howard Cohen; DreamWorks exec vp publicity Marvin Levy; Paramount president worldwide distribution and marketing Megan Colligan along with the studio's Katie Martin Kelly; NBC executive vp communications Chip Sullivan; Universal senior vp TV publicity, marketing and corporate communications Curt King; 20th Century Fox vp corporate communications Chelsey Summey and national publicity coordinator Sara Hull; Lionsgate vp theatrical publicity Meghann Burns; Warner Bros. executive vp theatrical communications Jack Horner;  Disney senior vp global communications Paul Roeder and vp global publicity Andrew Bernstein; Netflix vp originals marketing Stephen Bruno; Focus Features awards and special projects consultant Lisa Oropeza; Lionsgate senior vp worldwide theatrical publicity Jennifer Peterson; CBS Films vp communications Grey Munford and The Weinstein Co. vp publicity Katie Doyle.

Top PR firms were represented by 42 West's Susan Ciccone and Annalee Paulo, PMKBNC's Rachel Aberly, DKC LA's Chris Regan, DDA's Dana Archer, Ginsberg/Libby's Lisa Danna, Nick Babiarz and Ashley Sugarman, BK-PR's Melody Korenbrot and Ziggy Kozlowski, Andrew Thomas PR's Andrew Thomas and Joshua Jason PR's Joshua Jason.

Also out in force were top awards consultants such as LTLA's Lisa Taback, Christy Grosz and Albert Tello, The Angellotti Co.'s Dana Bseiso, Roadside Attractions' David Pollick, Karen Fried & Associates' Karen Fried and Sara Vahabi, Robertson/Taylor Partners' Ric Robertson and Jonathan Taylor, Marina Bailey PR's Marina Bailey, Dorothea Sargent & Co.'s Dorothea Sargent, Costa Communications' Ray Costa, DreamWorks Animation's Jerry Schmitz, Mayer & Associates' Vivian Mayer, Fox's Steven Flynn and Warner Bros.'s Stacey Mooradian; and top marketing execs including Netflix's Talia Gerecitano, Stradella Road's Gordon Paddison, Allied's Kymn Goldstein, Elisabeth Baker, Digital Pep strategic digital marketing executive Nicole Butte and Cameron Oro and Max Stax Media's Andrew Stachler.

Others on hand included HFPA president Lorenzo Soria, PGA national executive director Vance Van Petten, SAG Awards executive in charge of publicity Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda, SAG-AFTRA executive producer awards and national programming Kathy Connell, BFCA evp John De Simio, AFI's Liza Ameen, WME's Christian Muirhead, CAA's Michael Mand, ICM's Michelle Suess, Untitled Entertainment manager Jason Weinberg and Participant Media's Christina Kounelias and Ileen Reich.