Tom Stoppard to Receive Writers Guild of America, West's Laurel Award

Anna Karenina Premiere Tom Stoppard - P 2013
Getty Images

Anna Karenina Premiere Tom Stoppard - P 2013

Award-winning screenwriter-playwright Tom Stoppard will receive the Writers Guild of America, West’s 2013 Laurel Award for Screen, honoring lifetime achievement in outstanding writing for motion pictures. 

Stoppard will be honored at the WGAW’s 2013 Writers Guild Awards West Coast ceremony on Feb. 17 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE.

PHOTOS: The Russian Splendor of 'Anna Karenina'
“A television writer since 1965 and a screenwriter since 1975, Tom Stoppard brings wit, elegance and heart to all he composes," said WGAW Vice President Howard A. Rodman.

Stoppard, who wrote the screenplay for 2012's Anna Karenina, which starred Keira Knightley, has penned many memorable movies over the years, including Brazil (1985, written by Terry Gilliam, Tom Stoppard and Charles McKeown), Empire of the Sun (1987, based on the novel by J.G. Ballard), Billy Bathgate (1991, based on the book by E.L. Doctorow), and Shakespeare In Love (1998, written by Marc Norman and Tom Stoppard), for which he shared  several honors, including Academy, Writers Guild and Golden Globe Awards for Original Screenplay.

As a playwright, Stoppard has worked on theatrical plays including Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, Arcadia, The Invention of Love, The Real Thing and Coast Of Utopia.

Awarded to a Writers Guild member who has advanced the literature of motion pictures and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the screenwriter, the WGAW’s Laurel Award for Screen has been presented in past years to David Mamet, Lawrence Kasdan, Robert Benton, Barry Levinson, Steven Zaillian and Eric Roth.