Tonys: 'An American in Paris,' 'Finding Neverland' Among Drama League Award Nominees

'Hand to God' and 'Fun Home,' which were ineligible for Monday's Outer Critics Circle Award noms, registered strongly in Tuesday's announcement.
Carol Rosegg
'Finding Neverland'

The New York theater community's favorite shows of 2015 are beginning to become clear: Broadway's The Audience, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, An American in Paris, and Something Rotten!, and Off-Broadway's Hamilton, among others.

On Tuesday, just a day after the nominations for the Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced, many of the same shows — including those listed above — were recognized with Drama League Award nominations, too. The Drama League, America's oldest theater awards-dispensing organization, is comprised of thousands of members who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway shows. Its 81st awards ceremony will take place on May 15 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

The Drama League's best play category is comprised of five Broadway shows (The Audience, Constellations, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Hand to God and Wolf Hall: Parts 1 & 2) and five Off-Broadway shows (Between Riverside and Crazy, Bootycandy, An Octoroon, Punk Rock and Scenes from a Marriage).

Best musical nominees include Broadway's An American in Paris, Finding Neverland, Fun Home, It Shoulda Been You, Something Rotten! and The Visit and Off Broadway's Ghost Quartet and Hamilton.

The nominees for best revival of a play include six Broadway shows (The Elephant Man, The Heidi Chronicles, It's Only a Play, Skylight, This Is Our Youth and You Can't Take It with You) and three Off-Broadway shows (Big Love, The Iceman Cometh and Tamburlaine, Parts 1 and 2).

Best revival of a musical nominees are Broadway's The King and I, On the Town and On the Twentieth Century, as well as Off-Broadway's Allegro and Into the Woods.

The Drama League presents only one acting honor each year, its Distinguished Performance Award, which this year will go to one of the following 47 individuals:

  • Usman Ally (The Invisible Hand)
  • Christian Borle (Something Rotten!)
  • Steven Boyer (Hand to God)
  • Sterling K. Brown (Father Comes Home from the Wars Parts 1, 2 & 3)
  • Michael Cerveris (Fun Home)
  • Kristin Chenoweth (On The Twentieth Century)
  • Bradley Cooper (The Elephant Man)
  • Leanne Cope (An American in Paris)
  • Jim Dale (Just Jim Dale)
  • Tyne Daly (It Shoulda Been You)
  • Daveed Diggs (Hamilton)
  • Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris)
  • Renee Fleming (Living on Love)
  • Kelsey Grammer (Finding Neverland)
  • Jake Gyllenhaal (Constellations)
  • Stephen McKinley Henderson (Between Riverside and Crazy)
  • Lisa Howard (It Shoulda Been You)
  • Brian D'Arcy James (Something Rotten!)
  • Rebecca Naomi Jones (Big Love)
  • Cush Jumbo (Josephine and I, The River)
  • Andy Karl (On The Twentieth Century)
  • Judy Kuhn (Fun Home)
  • Lesley Manville (Ghosts)
  • Jan Maxwell (The City of Conversation)
  • Richard McCabe (The Audience)
  • Rob McClure (Honeymoon in Vegas)
  • Ewan McGregor (The Real Thing)
  • Ben Miles (Wolf Hall, Parts One & Two)
  • Ruthie Ann Miles (The King and I)
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda (Hamilton)
  • Helen Mirren (The Audience)
  • Matthew Morrison (Finding Neverland)
  • Elisabeth Moss (The Heidi Chronicles)
  • Carey Mulligan (Skylight)
  • Tam Mutu (Doctor Zhivago)
  • Bill Nighy (Skylight)
  • Kelli O'Hara (The King and I)
  • Nathaniel Parker (Wolf Hall, Parts One & Two)
  • Bryce Pinkham (The Heidi Chronicles)
  • Roger Rees (The Visit)
  • Chita Rivera (The Visit)
  • Alexander Sharp (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
  • Douglas Sills (Living on Love)
  • John Douglas Thompson (Tamburlaine, Parts I and II, The Iceman Cometh)
  • Julie White (Airline Highway)
  • Ruth Wilson (Constellations)
  • Tony Yazbeck (On The Town)

The Drama League made a point of acknowledging the following individuals who did exemplary work this season but are ineligible for the Distinguished Performance Award, having previously received it:

  • Kathleen Chalfant (A Walk in the Woods)
  • Stockard Channing (It’s Only A Play)
  • Glenn Close (A Delicate Balance)
  • Rosemary Harris (Indian Ink)
  • Hugh Jackman (The River)
  • Cherry Jones (When We Were Young and Unafraid)
  • James Earl Jones (You Can’t Take It With You)
  • Nathan Lane (The Iceman Cometh, It’s Only A Play)
  • John Lithgow (A Delicate Balance, King Lear)

It was previously announced that the Drama League will present its Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award to Joel Grey, its Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award to Neal Shapiro and David Horn and its Founders Award for Excellence in Directing to Stephen Daldry, the helmer of this year's The Audience and Skylight.