Toronto 2011: 'Where Do We Go Now?' Wins Audience Award

Where Do We Go Now? - TIFF- Image -2011

Attendees of the Toronto International Film Festival have voted to award the 2011 Cadillac People’s Choice Award, the festival’s highest honor, to Nadine Labaki's Where Do We Go Now?, a Lebanese drama that premiered at the Cannes Film Festival back in May and is still seeking domestic distribution.

Where Do We Go Now? prevailed over a number of other popular options including Jonathan Levine's 50/50, Michel Hazanavicius's The Artist, Jim Field Smith's Butter, Alexander Payne's The Descendants, Nicolas Winding Refn's Drive, Jennifer Westfeldt's Friends with Kids, Luc Besson's The Lady, Bennett Miller's Moneyball, Dee Rees's Pariah, Oren Moverman's Rampart, Steve McQueen's Shame, and Jeff Nichols's Take Shelter.

PHOTOS: Toronto Film Festival: 13 Films to Know

Labaki's film follows women of different religious affiliations who band together and resort to most innovative and surprising schemes to save their community from surrendering to violence.

TIFF’s audience award has existed since 1978. Almost all of its 33 previous winners went on to garner attention from the Academy — they have accounted for 105 nominations (including 10 for best picture for 9 for best foreign language film), 39 of which resulted in wins (including 4 for best picture and 5 for best foreign language film) — which has helped to cement TIFF’s reputation as one of the first important stops on the awards trail.

(For a full listing of previous TIFF audience award winners, and how they fared at the Oscars, click here.)