'Zero Dark Thirty' Notches Three More Awards From Washington D.C. Area Critics

2012-10 REP Zero Dary Thirty Kathryn Bigelow Mark Boal H
Rajnish Katyal/Hindustan Times/Newscom

Kathryn Bigelow and screenwriter Mark Boal, on set in Chandigarh, India, have released information only on a need-to-know basis.

Set to premiere in the nation's capital, Zero Dark Thirty got the party started in Washington, D.C. a few weeks early.

Kathryn Bigelow and Mark Boal's drama about the decadelong search for Osama bin Laden was named the year's best film by the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association on Monday, marking the second time they've won that award. Their last movie, 2009's war picture The Hurt Locker, also was named best film.

"In a year full of strong films," WAFCA president Tim Gordon said, "director Kathryn Bigelow's bold and audacious vision, represented in our best picture winner, is the perfect political story for our members in the District of Columbia. This story, told with steely, cold effectiveness, is a worthy entry into WAFCA's best picture canon and a cinematic achievement that we are proud to honor."

Film Review: 'Zero Dark Thirty'

The win continues the film's hot streak, which began last week with best film wins from the New York Film Critics Circle, National Board of Review, Boston Film Critics and New York Online Critics. Bigelow was named best director, continuing her sweep of the category.

Star Jessica Chastain, who plays a dogged young CIA agent obsessed with finding the terrorist mastermind, took home best actress, adding to a collection that also includes a statuette from the NBR.

VIDEO: THR's Awards Season Roundtables

Also continuing his momentum toward Oscar was Daniel Day-Lewis, who took home best actor honors for his portrayal of the 16th president in Steven Spielberg's Lincoln. He has won NRB, NYCFF, NYCO and Boston critics honors, as well.

Anne Hathaway earned best supporting actress for her role in Les Miserables, while Philip Seymour Hoffman notched a best supporting actor win for his work as a charismatic cult leader in The Master.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Film:
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director:
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Actress:
Jessica Chastain
(Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Actor:
Philip Seymour Hoffman
(The Master)

Best Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway
(Les Miserables)

Best Acting Ensemble:
Les Miserables

Best Adapted Screenplay:
David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Original Screenplay:
Rian Johnson

Best Animated Feature:

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Art Direction:
Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup
- Production Designers; Peter Walpole, Rebecca Alleway - Set Decorators (Cloud Atlas)

Best Cinematography:
Claudio Miranda
(Life of Pi)

Best Score:
Jonny Greenwood
(The Master)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Youth Performance:
Quvenzhane Wallis
(Beasts of the Southern Wild)