Glenn Close, Dr. Anthony Fauci to Be Honored at amfAR Virtual Gala

Glenn Close - Publicity - H 2020
Brigitte Lacombe

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, amfAR is rolling out a virtual event, A Gala for Our Time, that will honor Glenn Close and Dr. Anthony Fauci, both of whom will receive the org's Award of Courage.

Bette Midler is confirmed to present the award to Close while Julia Roberts has been tapped to honor Fauci, an infectious disease expert and longtime HIV/AIDS researcher. Also on the program: Kelly Clarkson, Rita Ora, Ava Max and Billy Porter with celebrity guests appearances by Magic Johnson, Morgan Freeman, Nathan Lane, Emily Hampshire, Cheyenne Jackson, Iman, Catherine O'Hara, Boy George, Lee Daniels, Jay Ellis, Olly Alexander, Diplo and Heidi Klum.

A Gala for our Time will run for 30 minutes and be free to the public. Audience members will be encouraged to donate to the amfAR, which expanded its scope during the pandemic to include coronavirus research. The benefit will stream on YouTube and a dedicated website.

Close and Fauci join a list of prior recipients including Bill Clinton, Elton John and David Furnish, Elizabeth Taylor, Harry Belafonte, Vanessa Redgrave, Joely Richardson, and Scarlett Johansson, among many others.