• The Hollywood Reporter on LinkedIn
  • Follow THR on Pinterest

Jeff Garlin, Mary Lynn Rajskub Join 'Safety Not Guaranteed'

Lynn Shelton, Karan Soni and Jenica Bergere also new to Colin Trevorrow and Derek Connolly's ensemble comedy.

Lynn Shelton, Jeff Garlin, Karan Soni, Jenica Bergere and Mary Lynn Rajskub have joined the cast of Colin Trevorrow and Derek Connolly’s Safety Not Guaranteed. Big Beach Films (Little Miss Sunshine) has come aboard to produce with Duplass Brothers Prods.

Aubrey Plaza, Mark Duplass, Kristen Bell and Jake Johnson star in the real-life-inspired story of three magazine employees sent to investigate a classified ad from a man seeking a partner for time travel. Trevorrow is making his directing debut using Connolly’s original screenplay.

“From unusual inspiration Derek and Colin have created a funny and touching story,” said Big Beach’s Peter Saraf. “We've been trying to team up with the Duplass Brothers for some time and are very grateful they finally returned our calls.”

Production on the comedy kicked off April 30 in Seattle. Stephanie Langhoff is producing for the Duplass Brothers. John Hodges and Michael Clark are overseeing for Big Beach.

ICM, which packaged the movie, is co-repping domestic rights with Cinetic Media.

Big Beach has produced Sunshine Cleaning, Jack Goes Boating and Away We Go. It has the Sundance comedy Our Idiot Brother hitting theaters in August.

Duplass Brothers Prods. produced The Puffy Chair and Baghead, both written, produced and directed by Jay and Mark Duplass, and their forthcoming comedy The Do-Deca-Pentathlon.

E-mail: jay.fernandez@thr.com